Overview

This document describes step by step procedure of upgrading Ephesoft. This document can be referenced when user wants to upgrade Ephesoft Application using Ephesoft installer setup.

Steps of execution

Following steps must be followed to upgrade an existing installation using Ephesoft Installer version 3.0.3.0 or later-

 

Things to check before upgrade

  1. If user is running Ephesoft using JavaAppServer (Apache tomcat) then first stop the server before performing an upgrade.
  2. Any file and folder inside existing Ephesoft install directory (The path where previous installation exists) like dcma-all.log and other such files and folders must be closed before upgrade.
  3. Make sure that Windows installation drive has enough free space such that installer setup file can be properly extracted. Same in the case with the drive where previous Ephesoft application is installed.
  4. It is recommended that you backup your ephesoft and report databases and your sharedfolders. Instructions can be found here.

 

First Step 

Run command prompt as administrator and execute the command as shown in screenshot –

 

400px-3.1_InstallerUpgradeSteps_10001

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In this command “msiexec.exe /i D:\Ephesoft_3.1.0.0.msi” is the path of Ephesoft installer setup. This command initiates Ephesoft installer setup and following screen will be displayed to user –

 

400px-3.1_InstallerUpgradeSteps_10002

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Click on ‘Next’ button. Following screen will be displayed to user

 

400px-3.1_InstallerUpgradeSteps_10003

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Accept Ephesoft end user agreement by clicking check box on UI and then click ‘Next’ button

 

 

Second step 

After License agreement UI following screen will be displayed:

 

400px-3.1_InstallerUpgradeSteps_10004

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If checkbox is checked before clicking ‘Next’ button then after successful upgrade when user start Ephesoft server, database patch will be executed on database and if this checkbox is unchecked before clicking ‘Next’ button then database patch will not be executed.

Note: Uncheck this checkbox if user is upgrading an Ephesoft installation which is in multi-server environment and database patch has already been executed on common database by another Ephesoft installation.

For standalone Ephesoft application this checkbox must be checked before clicking ‘Next’ button.

 

Third step

After clicking ‘Next’ button on Ephesoft Upgrade Installation screen, following screen will be displayed if some files or folders are in use or installer setup has no sufficient privileges to perform Windows service operations –

 

400px-3.1_InstallerUpgradeSteps_10005

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Close all such files and folders and re-run installer setup with admin privileges.

After clicking ‘Next’ button on Ephesoft Upgrade Installation screen, following screen will be displayed if Ephesoft-installation drive does not has enough free disk space.

 

400px-3.1_InstallerUpgradeSteps_10006

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Click on install button and installer will do rest of the work. After successful upgrade following screen will be displayed to user.

 

400px-3.1_InstallerUpgradeSteps_10008

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

400px-3.1_InstallerUpgradeSteps_10009

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

By default ‘Finish’ button on the above screen will be disabled. ‘Finish’ button will be enabled when user clicks on checkbox. So first click on checkbox and then on ‘Finish’ button.

 

 

Fifth step

After clicking ‘Finish’ button of previous screen, following screen will be displayed to user:

 

3.1_InstallerUpgradeSteps_10010

 

 

 

 

 

 

Click on ‘Yes’ button to restart the system.

After upgrading, install the latest Ephesoft license if required.

 

Sixth step

Start EphesoftEnterprise and EphesoftWebService services manually as installer will not start these services.

Upgrade procedure using Ephesoft enterprise installer setup is now complete.

After performing an upgrade, any BI that was mid processing in the system would need to be restarted from Folder Import (if they resume and ERROR).

Was this article helpful to you?

wikiadmin

Comments are closed.